top of page

The Reluctant Riser

In the dim, ungodly hour's glare,

I stumble forth with unkempt hair,

Another day, another bout,

Against the world's incessant clout.


The sun, it laughs, a cruel jest,

As morning chores await their due,

My bones, they groan, my spirit pressed,

By tasks that never seem quite through.


Oh, coffee, my reluctant friend,

You promise vigor, but then pretend,

To lift me from this drowsy haze,

Only to prolong the morning maze.


Yet amidst this daily grind and grind,

A spark of hope, a whispered dream,

That one day soon, relief I'll find,

From mornings' drudgery extreme.



Despite the drudgery of mornings, I know, each day offers a chance to find joy in small victories and moments of unexpected brightness.



Other Blog Sites


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Featured on It Be Life | Facebook

Poem Archive on Hobby Blogger 👉HERE.

We're not big on advertising or promoting products. But if you shop on Amazon, these links can save you money.

bottom of page