top of page

The Lonely Passage

The poem touches on themes of mortality, loneliness, and the value of human connection. The poem urges readers to cherish their relationships and appreciate the time they have with loved ones. Overall, this poem serves as a poignant reminder of the importance of companionship and the fear that many people share about dying alone.

In the quiet of the night,

As I lay in my bed,

Thoughts of my future

Swirl around in my head.


What if I end up alone,

In a nursing home one day?

What if no one is there,

When I take my final breath and pass away?


The thought of dying alone,

Terrifies me to my core,

As I imagine my final moments,

Without anyone I adore.


Will I be forgotten,

Just a name on a wall?

Will my life have meant nothing,

As I take my final fall?


The fear of dying alone,

Is a heavy weight to bear,

As I hope that someone will be there,

To hold my hand and show they care.


So I cherish the moments now,

With family and friends,

Hoping that when my time comes,

My fear will come to an end.


Belle Webb🪶©2023


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page