top of page

Mundane Mornings

For seventy years, I’ve faced the morning light,

The thrill is gone, but hey, it's all right.

Coffee’s my highlight, not some grand new start,

Just dragging through the motions, that’s the art.


Sunrise used to wow me, now it’s old,

A daily show that's frankly gotten cold.

Birds chirping? Oh great, just what I need,

Another thing that’s lost its charm, indeed.


Romantic mornings? Oh, give me a break,

That fantasy’s a myth I’ve learned to shake.

It’s just a trudge, a bleary-eyed routine,

Another dawn, another shot of caffeine.


But hey, there’s peace in knowing what’s ahead,

In this sleepy march from bed to bed.

So here’s to waking up, like every day,

Let’s raise a mug and laugh along the way.



Every sunrise may seem routine, but amidst life's mundane rhythms, there's a quiet resilience in simply showing up.


Related: Ah, the thrill of waking up for the 25,568th time: another day, another battle against gravity! Read The Mundane Majesty of Mornings



Other Blog Sites


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page